news 2013 archive


  Interest groups  
Click to search the BMSS site - Powered by Goggle


News Archive:
2017 2016 2015 2014 2013


34th BMSS Annual Meeting “Oh we do like to be beside the seaside” Eastbourne 2013 report & The Big Debates
09 Decmber 2013

Eastbourne 2013 report

The Big Debates

05 September 2013

The Postal Ballot for the BMSS Committee elections has now closed and the election results will be announced at the next AGM to be held at 1pm on Wednesday 11th September and which takes place during the 2013 BMSS Annual Meeting at Eastbourne. Please visit the Meetings page to find out more details about the BMSS Annual Meeting 2013.

BMSS Chair Dr Tony Bristow talks about the Arsonist, the Martian, the Cat and the Coke... oh and Dwain
05 April 2013

Have you ever wondered what links Martians to Olympic athletes? Cats to cocaine? Surgery to the Shroud of Turin? Pizza to forensic science?

Answering these questions and more, see Dr Tony Bristow, our very own BMSS chair, in action at the Royal Society of Chemistry’s chemistry centre where he presented one of the monthly public lecture series! Just follow this link to view a video of his presentation and find out about some of the many fascinating applications of mass spectrometry, one of the most important and widely used analytical techniques in science today.

Dr Tony Bristow (left) and Prof. Frank Pullen (right)

Dr Tony Bristow (left) and Prof. Frank Pullen (right) at Burlington House, home of the RSC

BMSS Aston Medal holder Carol Robinson appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire
11 January 2013

Carol Robinson was appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) in the 2013 New Year Honours for services to science and industry.

From the Cabinet Office New Year Honour List 2013:
Professor Carol Robinson, Professor of Physical Chemistry, University of Oxford, is widely recognised for her ground-breaking research in mass spectrometry and as a role model for women scientists. Her awards and medals include the Royal Society’s Davy Medal, The Rosalind Franklin Award, and the Anfinsen Award from the Protein Society. In recognition of her contribution to science she was also awarded the 2011 FEBS/EMBO Woman of the Year.


Prof Carol Robinson

Carol receiving the BMSS Aston Medal in 2011

home | about us |  meetings |  notice board |  awards | membership | links | contact us | search | euro journal | education
| interest groups | mass matters | © Copyright 2005-18   |  Privacy policy   |  Site created by : Mosaic-Network |   back to top >