aston medal


  Interest groups  
Click to search the BMSS site - Powered by Goggle


The Aston Medal was established by the British Mass Spectrometry Society in 1987 as the Society's prestigious scientific award, to be given to individuals deserving special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the biological, chemical, engineering, mathematical, medical or physical sciences relating directly to mass spectrometry.

It takes the name of one of Britain's founders of mass spectrometry, Francis William Aston†. He received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1922 for his discovery "by means of his mass spectrograph, of isotopes, in a large number of non-radioactive elements, and for his enunciation of the whole-number rule".
  † Find out more about Francis Aston

To honour individuals deserving special recognition by reason of their pioneering technical contributions to knowledge in the biological, chemical, engineering, mathematical, medical, or physical sciences relating directly to outstanding exploitation, application or development of mass spectrometry.

Open to academic and industrial scientists of any nationality who have worked in the UK. The nominee does not necessarily have to be a member of BMSS or a UK citizen.

Full details of the criteria for the award of the Aston Medal (as with other BMSS awards) will be posted continuously on the BMSS web site and occasionally in the Newsletter and any other media of advertisement which the committee deem appropriate.  Advertisement will be made at a date that allows members sufficient time to make nominations to the selection committee together with the current address where to submit nominations. 

Nominations can only be made by current BMSS members, from any membership category (including those not commanding a membership fee, such as honorary members), BMSS committee members and/or the BMSS Aston Award selection committee members. Nominations, including the requested supporting information, must be received in the BMSS administrative office by 20th April for consideration of awarding at the next annual meeting. Nominations will be kept on file and reassessed annually. Unsuccessful nominations will expire on the third anniversary of their submission.
The Aston Medal nomination form is available here in either PDF or MS Word format.

The selection committee will be the regular BMSS committee, or a sub-committee nominated by the BMSS committee and approved by the BMSS Chair. The BMSS Chair will usually chair the selection committee which will comprise at least six scientists and will judge the nominations for the award in line with the published criteria. The decision of this group is final. The selection committee will usually meet on the same date (May meeting) as the BMSS committee prior to the Annual Meeting.

The award is occasional with no more than one per year. The Aston Medal will not be associated with a particular year or number.

The announcement and presentation of the award will usually be made at the Annual Meeting of the BMSS. The BMSS Chair will usually make the award.

A gold-plated medal carrying a portrait of Aston together with a certificate commemorating the Award duly signed by the BMSS Chair.

Aston Medal Holders
Professor John Beynon
Professor Allan Maccoll
Brian Green
Professor Keith Jennings
Professor Dai Games
Professor Colin Pillinger
Dr Tom Preston
Professor John Todd
Robert Bateman
Professor Richard Evershed
Professor Carol Robinson
Professor Tony Stace
Professor Graham Cooks

home | about us |  meetings |  notice board |  awards | membership | links | contact us | search | euro journal | education
| interest groups | mass matters | © Copyright 2005-18   |  Privacy policy   |  Site created by : Mosaic-Network |   back to top >